Chocolate Chip Cookie

Last night my son Jotko camye home from work wanting to make chocolate chip cookies. He bought a bag of Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chips.  He asked me to help him and I told him I would sit at the table,he could read directions on the bag and if he needed any assistance I would be right there to help. The recipe on the bag called for 1 cup of butter or 2 sticks. I questioned that for the moment. I have been making those cookies for 40 some years and usually never followed the recipe on the bag because I know it by heart. I always thought it called for half a cup of butter or 1 stick. So I looked up the recipe in my mothers Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook from the 1950’s that she had given me years ago and sure enough it said half a cup or one stick butter or shortening. Well, I was puzzled, I did not know what to do. So Jotko wanted to follow the recipe on the bag so he did. Those cookies were the most awful cookies. The batter tasted too buttery and thin and when the cookies came out of the oven they were so flat the only lumps were the chocolate chips that did not melt. We had one huge flat cookie and one big gooey mess. Monday I am calling the company. All in all we did have some good laughs

3 comments on “Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Cute post 🙂 I wish you put a picture of the gooey cookie too! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some chickpea and cracker-based hors d’œuvres and would love to know what you think 🙂

  2. I’m glad I found your article. I would never have made sense of this topic on my own. I’ve read a few other articles on this subject, but I was confused until I read yours.

  3. visit site says:

    Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great article.

Leave a Reply

