Mother’s Day

I being a mother of 6 children sometimes think Mother’s Day can be over rated. Yes at times I get presents,cards, taken out to eat, and even a call wishing me Happy Mother’s Day. But,for the most part it feels like another day,with most of all the chores that have to be done. Now I can see why my mother felt the same way. She use to say,” Mother’s Day is everyday”. As an individual it does feel good to be remembered and I do feel special when I am remembered. Recently I looked up Mother’s Day on the internet and found out that many countries celebrate Mothers at different times of the year and different ways. That was quite interesting. Here living in the United States of America it is rather a new custom,dating back to the early 1900’s. I would like to commemorate my mother whom I love dearly and mere words could not explain. I love you Mom. Happy Mother’s Day!

8 comments on “Mother’s Day

  1. David says:

    this is lovely…happy mother’s day beatrix:)

  2. damls says:

    Well in my country mother’s day is on march 25th. My kid usually brings me a flower and huge hug 🙂
    I agree every day is mother’s day. Best part of being a mother is to watch kids grow, breathe, to be happy.
    Happy mother’s day Beatrix!!!

  3. I agree ‘every day is Mother’s Day’. Enjoy the day! Julia

  4. Rhonda says:

    Being a mother is one of the great paradox’s of a woman’s life. It is THE most thankless at times and THE most rewarding at times. Sometimes we ask ourselves “What were we thinking?”. Other times we tell ourselves “I can’t imagine life without them”. I like Mother’s Day, but like your Mom Beatrix, I think everyday is Mother’s Day because our lives and duties and worries and joys don’t stop or start for one particular day. It’s nice to have that special thanks or phone call, but I appreciate each and every thanks and phone call no matter the day. I’m sure your Mom did too.
    It’s a great and lifetime love we have for our Mother’s, therefore ourselves…for most of us become them. Hope you had a wonderful day.
    Rhonda

Leave a comment